From Great to the Magnificent… a recipe for Health

These are from a blog I follow. I want to show how you too, can change any recipe.

These are from a blog I follow. I want to show how you too, can change any recipe.

As we all know, the sweet life is the BEST! However, we all also know that sugar is the biggest killer when it comes to trying to diet and be healthy. The Cake King wants to show you how you can turn any of those delicious recipes you’ve been cooking the family for years and turn it into a recipe that is lower in sugar. Each and every one of you can become the next great baker and every recipe can go from ‘great to the magnificent’.

So here is a recipe from another blog that I saw. I want to show you how any home cooked cookie can become ‘healthy’. The Cake King wants to create the sugar revolution.

 

The Link for the recipe and blog… http://throughtheovenwindow.wordpress.com/2013/10/14/chewy-oatmeal-cookies-with-currants/

This is the recipe.

 

Ingredients 

  • 1 cup dried currants
  • 1 1/4 cup flour
  • 3/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 cup unsalted butter, softened
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 2 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 2 1/3 cups old-fashioned rolled oats

Cookies are a one bowl creation. Try this amazing recipe, it will smell the house out like Christmas each time you bake it.

Now for the amended alternative; one that is low in added sugar

 

Ingredients

  • 1/4 cup dried currents
  • 1/2 cup fresh blueberries
  • 1 1/4 cup self raising flour
  • 1/4 tsp ground cloves
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 cup thick natural greek yoghurt
  • 1 egg
  • 3/4 cup Natvia – any brand of sugar free sweetener
  • 2 1/2 tsp vanilla paste
  • 2 1/2 cups rolled oats

**NOTE** – This recipe for the health conscious, can be made without the sweetener.

**NOTE** – For you gym junkies out their, leave out the vanilla, sweetener and flour. Add 2 cups of your protein powder. The powder acts as the dry glue which holds the cookies together. Also lovely to taste.

**NOTE** – For another variety, change up the berries and dried fruits in the recipe or try and add 100grams of dark compound chocolate.

Method

  1. Preheat Oven to 180 degrees celcius
  2. Add all ingredients in one large bowl.
  3. Scoop onto a baking tray lined with greese proof paper
  4. Bake for 15 minutes, allow to cool

 

I hope you enjoyed the recipe alteration just as much as I did. Stay tuned my fellow bakaholics. I cannot wait to show you another recipe that you can alter to lower it in sugar for the healthy household.

 

– The Cake King

 

2 thoughts on “From Great to the Magnificent… a recipe for Health

    • I have a recipe which I myself use whole wheat flour. I find it gives cakes and cookies a much more dense texture when I bake with it.

      I also find for gluten free varieties, the new white wings gluten free flour is a perfect alternative. It works exactly like a normal flour component and isn’t like almond meal that gives a different taste and texture to the cooking.

      Stay tuned, I have a lot more recipes I want to show my passionate bakers how to change the sugar for any recipe. Link me to your favourite recipe, or email it to me, I would love to re work it for you.

      – The Cake King

Leave a Reply

